Skip to content

Two Kamloops high schools headed to curling provincials

The South Kamloops Secondary girls and Westsyde Secondary boys won the curling championships for the Okanagan Zone over the weekend. (via Contributed)

The boys curling team from Westsyde Secondary and the girls team from South Kamloops Secondary School (SKSS) both earned a trip to the provincial championship after winning their respective Okanagan Zone over the weekend.

Westsyde's team of Bryan Yamada, Zander Landygo, Nolan Bottineau and Daniel Griffiths will look to defend their title, after winning the B.C. high school championship in Maple Ridge last year.

They qualified for the 2020 tournament by beating George Elliot in the Okanagan Zone finals 8-2 in six ends. Westsyde finished the round robin a perfect 4-0.

The SKSS girls won the Okanagan Zone for the fourth time in the school's history and for the first time since 2013, when local curling legends Corryn Brown and Erin Pincott helped the team to a three-peat (2011-13).

This year's team of Holly Hafeli, Jorja Kopytko, Natasha Olmstead and Natalie Hafeli also went undefeated, going 3-0 in round-robin play and then 2-0 in the playoffs. They also matched up with George Elliot in the final, winning 7-3 in seven ends.

Both teams will have plenty of time to practice, as provincials don't start until March 4 in Winfield. 


Eric Thompson

About the Author: Eric Thompson

It's 2020 and Eric Thompson still gets paid to write about news. What a world we live in!
Read more